top of page

Boho Motherhood Session at Jack London State Park


California is home to some of the most scenic landscapes the United States has to offer and I’ve had my eye on one particular location for some time now. Nestled in the heart of Glen Ellen is a gem filled with Redwoods, wildflowers, and breathtaking views. For Lauren’s Boho Motherhood Session, I knew that Jack London State Park was the perfect fit!


Mommy & Me

My favorite thing about motherhood sessions is getting to see mothers interact with their children. Just like in other sessions I’ve shot with Lauren, she was a pro! I felt like a fly on the wall for the afternoon while she and sweet Isabella enjoyed their time together. It was almost as if she forgot she was being photographed and instead she was just completely present with her daughter. These sessions are meant to celebrate the unique dynamics between mothers and children, and we accomplished exactly that.


In the beginning, Isabella was very energetic and playful which was a ton of fun. Just like with family sessions, I don’t expect kids to be still when that’s not at all what children are like! These photos are for my clients to look back on, a way to remember their littles exactly the way they were at that particular age. I will say, however, as time went on & she settled in a bit, I was able to get some great snuggle shots. Lauren has such a sweet way with her daughter and it was such a pleasure to watch them laugh and play together.



Styled Sessions

Speaking of playing, how much fun are the shots of them twirling in their dresses? This session was one I styled myself. I knew this location had a very specific vibe and I wanted it to shine through with the wardrobe. Their dresses were perfect for a playful, feminine, boho vibe that suited the landscape surrounding them. (And as an added bonus, not only were they beautiful dresses, they were perfect for twirling!)



Jack London State Park Motherhood Session

This was my first time shooting at Jack London State Park and I can’t begin to describe how much I loved it. Photos aside, this is such a beautiful park with breathtaking views. The redwoods form a gorgeous, shady canopy overhead with sunlight peeking through the branches. We got several photos near a rustic structure at the park and I loved that the scenery complemented Lauren & Isabella rather than competing with them. Instead, these two were the stars of the show.


Shooting this styled motherhood session at a location that was brand new to me was such a great experience. Lauren & Isabella, I thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon together and I hope you love the finished product as much as I do. Thank you for choosing me to photograph your beautiful relationship!




If you liked this post, you might also enjoy


One Year Milestone Session at Rohnert Park, CA Fun Filled Family Session at Bodega Bay Beach, CA




Diana Jex is a Petaluma based newborn, maternity and family photographer. Serving Petaluma, Sonoma, Marin, Cotati, Rohnert Park, Santa Rosa, Napa, and the North Bay.


7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page