top of page

Embracing Vulnerability: A Heartwarming Experience Getting Photographed by My Friend and Mentor

As a mother and photographer, I've always been the one behind the camera, capturing the precious moments of my family's life. However, I realized that in doing so, I was missing out on being in those cherished memories myself. The realization struck me like a gentle but powerful wake-up call. I needed to get in the frame with my family, not just for them but also for myself.





















So, I decided to take a leap of faith and book a photo session with my dear friend and mentor, a talented photographer who knew how to capture the essence of a moment with utmost authenticity. I knew that being in front of the camera would make me vulnerable, but I also knew that it was an essential step in preserving the memories of my journey as a mother and cherishing the precious time with my kids that seemed to be slipping through my fingers like sand.


The day of the photo session arrived, and I found myself feeling a mix of excitement and nervousness. I was so used to being the one giving directions and composing shots that being on the other side felt like uncharted territory. However, my friend and mentor created a safe and supportive space, assuring me that this was about capturing real moments and emotions, not about posing perfectly.


As the photo shoot began, I allowed myself to let go of any self-consciousness and embraced the beauty of the moment with my family. My kids were excited and joyful, and I couldn't help but get caught up in their laughter and playfulness. I felt a profound connection with them as we shared hugs, giggles, and tender moments.


Seeing my family through the lens of someone else's camera was a revelation. I saw the love in my children's eyes, the pure innocence in their smiles, and the beautiful chaos of everyday life that I had become so accustomed to. My friend skillfully captured the magic of those fleeting moments that I often took for granted.


Being photographed by my friend and mentor reminded me of the importance of these photographs for myself, my family, and future generations. These images would become treasured memories, a visual legacy that would speak of love, joy, and the beautiful journey of motherhood.


Through the vulnerability of being in the frame, I gained a deeper appreciation for the art of photography. It's not just about capturing pretty pictures but about preserving emotions and stories that would otherwise fade away with time. As a photographer, it reminded me of the privilege and responsibility I have in my hands when documenting the lives of others.


Looking back at the photographs from that session, I can't help but smile. They represent a milestone in my journey as a mother and photographer. They remind me that life is fleeting and that being present in the moment with our loved ones is a gift we must cherish.


To all the mothers out there, I urge you to take the leap and book a photo session for yourself with your family. Embrace the vulnerability, and let yourself be seen through the eyes of someone else's lens. These photographs will become treasures that you will hold dear for a lifetime. As a photographer, I can attest that being on the other side of the camera is a priceless experience that will enrich your life and your art forever. So, seize the moment, and get in the frame with your family. You won't regret it.


Diana Jex is a Petaluma based newborn, maternity and family photographer. Serving Petaluma, Sonoma, Marin, Cotati, Rohnert Park, Santa Rosa, Napa, and the North Bay.



12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page