top of page

An Artistic Maternity Session at a Petaluma Regional Park

Maternity sessions are some of my favorite sessions because they all have an element of magic to them. When Lena & JT reached out to me to schedule theirs, I couldn't wait to see the finished product!


When I spoke with them before the session, I knew we were going for simple and elegant. These two complement each other so well and are very calm, quiet, & go with the flow. As always, I like the vibe of the photos to match the people in them, especially since maternity sessions celebrate such an important milestone in their lives.


Lena is an artist, so I wanted her maternity session to be extra dreamy. There are times when the stars align and everything comes together to bring my vision to life. This was one of those moments!


Lena wore a gorgeous, flowy maternity gown that showcased her glow and baby bump. The expectant mama was the star of the show, but her wardrobe accentuated the ethereal quality I was striving for with her photos. The wind created movement in the dress that gave the photos a very light and airy feel. Lena herself was such a natural in front of the camera and so comfortable with her changing body! JT also made my job very easy, and the poses with the two of them together came out beautifully. Then there was the sky!


We met at the regional park in Petaluma, and the sky was something straight out of the movies! The clouds that evening were a thing of beauty! I look back at the photos and they have a very painterly feel to them. The sky darkened right at dusk and gave us lots of contrast against Lena's flowing, white gown. I couldn't have asked for a better backdrop for a minimalistic but artistic session with this couple!


The finished gallery is exactly what I'd hoped to accomplish for them. I set out to create art for a fellow artist, and I hope it's something that they look back on fondly with their new little one in the years to come.










Follow me on Pinterest for outfit ideas and inspiration for your upcoming session!


If you liked this post, you might also enjoy:


Diana Jex is a Petaluma based newborn, maternity and family photographer. Serving Petaluma, Sonoma, Marin, Cotati, Rohnert Park, Santa Rosa, Napa, and the North Bay.


28 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page